Sun God is the king of the planetary hierarchy in Vedic Astrology, Vedanga Jyotish

The powers and influential abilities of the Sun in Vedic Astrology are way beyond that of any other planet. He is the significator of the universal soul, health, power, royalty, authority, and leadership. He is the karaka of all Raj Yogas, who initiates them.

Shri Vishnu Purana describes Surya Dev’s might and glory and Vedanga Jyotish illustrates rules that highlight his supreme influential abilities. The synergy, coherence, and logic in Vedic scriptures are the hallmark of Vedic Knowledge bodies.

Maharishi Parashara, in Shri Vishnu Purana, describes the mighty chariots of the Sun God (Dwadash Aditya) in the following way

The glorious Sun darts like an arrow on his southern course, attended by the constellations and signs of the zodiac. He never rises nor sets, however, his appearance and disappearance at a location generate such scenarios.

He causes the difference between day and night and is in constant motion on his divine vehicle.

The 7 horses of the Sun’s chariot are the chandas (meters) of the Vedas: Gayatri, Brihati, Ushnik, Jagati, Trishtubh, Anushtubh, and Pankti.

Surya Dev has 12 forms called Dwadash Aditya. Every month, the Sun God takes one form in a Sign (Rasi) and his chariot is composed of 6 other members each month.

The seven members of the chariot are Aditya, Rishi, Gandharva, Apsara, Yaksha, Sarpa, and Rakshas.

When the Surya Dev is in Aries in Chaitra maas (month), he has the form of Dhata Aditya. The other members of his divine chariot are Pulatsya Rishi, Tambour Gandharva, Kratushtala Apsara, Rathbruth Yaksh, Vasuki Sarpa, and Héti Rakshas.

Likewise, when the Sun is in Pisces in Phalgun maas, he has the form of Vishnu Aditya. The other members that constitute this chariot are: Vishwamitra Rishi, SuryaVarcha Gandharva, Rambha Apsara, Ashvatar Sarp, and Satyajeet Yaksh.

In this way, these 7 members empowered by the energies of Shri Vishnu stay in the Surya mandal for 1 month.

The Rishis lauds (स्तुति) the Aditya, Gandharvs stay in front and glorify (यशोगान) him, the Apsaras dance (नृत्य), the Yaksha drive the chariot, Rakshas walk behind the chariot, the Sarpas prepare & decorate the chariot.

The might of Surya Dev and SarvatoBhadra Chakra.

Now in Jyotish, the rules of judging Transit, Prashna, and other results, say in SarvatoBhadra Chakra give top importance to Surya Dev. 

The first Nakshatra that falls in the North-East Direction in SarvatoBhadra Chakra, is that of the Sun God (Kritika Nakshatra). 

When Sun is present in any 1 Nakshatra, he has:

-Vedha on 3 Nakshatra

-Graha Drishti on 2 Nakshatra (on 5,15 Nak)

-Lata on 1 Nak (12th Nak)

-UpGrahas on 8 Nakshatra. Their names and respective positions from Sun are: Vidyunmukh (5th from Sun), Shool (8th), Sanipat(14), Ketu (18 ) Ulka (21), Kamp(22), Vajr (23) and Nirghat (24 from Sun )

Further, he sets or combusts one direction, 7 Nakshatras, 3 Signs, 5 to 9 alphabets (Akshara), 4 vowels (Swara), 1-2 types of tithi, and 1-2 varas (day), etc.

The image attached explains this part. For example, when Sun is in a north direction all the Panchanga elements shown in red color are negatively affected or combust.

Mighty Sun God

Consequently, out of 28 Nakshatras, 21 Nakshatras and many other Panchanga elements are impacted by Surya Dev at any time. The extent of the influence depends on many aspects including the strength of the Sun in the Transit etc.

No other planet can influence in such a capacity in SarvatoBhadra Chakra to draw results.

Shri Surya Sidhanta also gives combustion degrees of planets. Within that close vicinity range with the Sun, the planets are combust and are unable to give desired results.

So worship Sura Dev to have his blessings for health, prosperity, and spirituality.

ॐ सूर्य नारायण नमः I

Aum Surya Narayan Namah I

Join Our Online Jyotish Course

Buy Vedic Astrology Video Lessons

Test your Jyotish knowledge: Astrology Quizzes