Lagna or Ascendant: Your Personal Time and Space Equation

The rising sign in an astrological chart is called Lagna or the Ascendant. It refers to a specific point in the zodiac located on the eastern horizon at the time and place when a living being or entity comes into existence in the physical world, typically through birth. The entity could be a nation, political party, business, association, or similar group.

We can say that the Lagna is the Time and Space Equation of Birth for an individual/entity that governs its entire existence.

Various synonyms of Birth Chart are: Lagna Patrika, Lagna Kundli, Rasi chart, Natal Chart, Horoscope etc


Empty Lagna Kundali or Birth chart in the North Indian style of Jyotish. Empty Lagna Kundali or Birth chart in the South Indian style of Jyotish.


The Lagna governs the attitude, ideals, outlook, inherent nature of a person and all that which gives him a sense of individuality or identity. Consequently, the person behaves or reacts in a certain manner depending upon this internal makeup.

The moment we talk about existence in the material world, an identity or ” I ness” becomes necessary for all to exist individually;  this ” I ness” is born from ego (ahamkara).

This “I ness” must have some attributes and a physical body to exist in the manifested world separately as different from others. Lagna is sum total of the entire “I ness” of a native or his complete real personality. It is the physical interface (body) via which a human being comes in contact with the external world and others. The Ascendant Lord is the intelligence of a human being that guides his existence in the manifested world.

Types of Lagna or Ascendant in Vedic Astrology:

We have multiple types of existences in this world. Therefore, there are various types of Lagna or Ascendant in astrology to judge different aspects depending on the context. Some important examples are:

– Lagna or Ascendant in the birth chart: shows physical existence to interact and live with the external world.


– Chandra Lagna : The existence concerning the mind and thoughts or Moon.


Arudha Lagna: shows material status, reputation, and image in the society.


Hora Lagna: existence w.r.t wealth, work and profession.


–  Ghati/Ghatika Lagna: exhibits the power, authority, and control one commands.


– Shree or Shri Lagna: represents the prosperity, well-being and blessings of the mother.


–  Atmakaraka as Lagna or Ascendant: represents existence at the spiritual or soul level.


–  Adhana Lagna (Conception): show the situation when the process of creation of a life  begins. It commences with the coming together of a mind (Moon) and a soul (Sun) and formation of a physical body. Adhana means settlement.

The Ascendant is the reference frame for any individual living or nonliving entity from which all other concerned aspects are judged. The results of all the other houses should be favorable for the Ascendant under consideration. Hence only Quadrant and Trinal house lords form Raja Yoga or Laxmi Narayan yoga in Jyotish. It is primarily because these houses have auspicious agendas for the Lagna or Ascendant.

The Ascendant is a trine (representing blessings of goddess Laxmi) as well as a quadrant, (representing efforts i.e. Lord Vishnu) that is why the rising sign becomes very auspicious and important. It is the only house out of the 12 houses which is a both quadrant and trine.

All the divisional charts (Varga chakras) are calculated from the natal chart (janma kundali) only. As in natal chart, the Ascendant represents a native, so in all divisional charts, the Ascendant always represents the native in that scenario.

Introductory lecture in Hindi on Lagna, Arudha Lagna, Hora Lagna, Ghatika Lagna:

हिन्दी में ज्योतिष ऑडियो लैसन: लग्न, आरूढ़ लग्न, होरा लग्न, घटिका लग्न और कुछ महत्वपूण बातें


Buy Hindi video lessons on Chara Karaka of 10+ hour duration.

Join our Jyotish Course to learn this concept completely.

Test your knowledge, and respond to the Astrology Quizzes.